Things that parents should never ask?

Photo Credit: dalytics Flickr via Compfight cc

When are you going to settle down?

When are you going to find someone nice that is comparable to you so you can get married?

Oops! You are hitting your 30’s.

Have you ever find yourself sitting around the dinner table with your parents while they ask you again if you have met anyone special? So, for the past few years my mother has being hitting me with this marriage shenanigan.  My mother is a typical African mom. When a female reach certain age there are ought to be in serious relationship that will lead to marriage someday. Whether my mom admit it or not, her desire is to see me married and have the life that I desire and to her this mean settling with a life partner. Pressure from parents pursuing you to get married varies from culture to culture according to our traditional norms. Place like TOGO, married is a big deal. When you get married you are ought to be submissive to your husband.  I’m that type of person who likes to follow my mind, my heart, but not peer pressure.  When it comes with dealing with pushing parents, we tend to fall into things that we don’t want our self.  I believe in marriage, love, and all that good stuff. But, I just can’t see myself settling down because that’s what my mother want.

 

 

Leave a Reply

